Download Section Back Up, Navigate the Right Hand Menu to find files, ignore the 0s

Getting to grips with the setup..

goodbytes

Is HyperSpin mainly for full collections? I visited the sticky guide in this forum that talks us through getting it installed, updating with git and installing MAME.. when i finally fired up HyperSpin i noticed lots of emulators on there and the MAME emulator i setup was already loaded with games that obviously weren't installed (i guess this came from the xml i added). I am wondering what the benefit of the xml files are, because what are the chances of everyone having full collections? surely it takes longer to remove content than start from scratch with small libraries?

I'll only be going with a small selection of games so i'm wondering if it's worth going down that route. I'm new to this so i could be missing the point completely.

I was thinking of signing up as a platinum member but does it follow the same setup? ie.. can i use hyper sync to do everything for a small collection or will it throw lots of images, files and data down for roms i don't even have. what are the benefits (aside from supporting the developers and community) ?

I'm finding the whole process confusing at the moment, i am a computer technician so should pick it up fast when I find my feet. Are there any good guides that describe this part better?

Sorry for a random open ended question

Is HyperSpin mainly for full collections? I visited the sticky guide in this forum that talks us through getting it installed, updating with git and installing MAME.. when i finally fired up HyperSpin i noticed lots of emulators on there and the MAME emulator i setup was already loaded with games that obviously weren't installed (i guess this came from the xml i added). I am wondering what the benefit of the xml files are, because what are the chances of everyone having full collections? surely it takes longer to remove content than start from scratch with small libraries?