Download Section Back Up, Navigate the Right Hand Menu to find files, ignore the 0s

AMD A8 opinions

n3wt0n

Hello everyone.

I am new to the emulation scene and am "rebooting" an ancient project to convert an old arcade cabinet to a more sophisticated emulation cab. Hyperspin front end is amazing and I want to include it as part of my build but I have to get some hardware issues sorted first. The PC that I originally wanted to use is WAY too slow but realistically a new monster of a computer isn't in the budget.

I have been reading that most older emulators are CPU only and multiple cores are not advantageous but as we get into the gamecube/N64 eras it seems that the requirements rise pretty drastically. I did read the "requirements for Hyperspin" thread but I can't search for AMD A6, A8 or A10 and get any results. I am curious how far forum members think I can get with only an A8-6600K as my processor and GPU? Also, the A6-6400K has a slightly faster clock speed (3.9 vs 3.6 in the A8) but the GPU isn't quite as good and it has less cores (2 instead of 4). The kicker is that it is half the price. Given the info provided I am curious to get the opinions of others. Do you have one of these chips running emulators and hyperspin? I would LOVE to hear what you think. Obviously, while I would prefer to spend less I understand that spending too little is going to leave me unsatisfied with the end result. One last thing, I know an i5 with a decent graphics card would probably be ideal but it just isn't in the budget right now.

Thanks for ANY help you can shed here. I really appreciate it and plan to be around quite a bit as I complete this build.

n3wt0n