Unfortunately we had to take download section back offline temporarily. We should have it working normally soon.

Wife-Friendly Arcade Cabinet

mikomi

Latest project pictures:

render04.jpg

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all,

since I was a kid i've been facinated by arcade machines. Once I grew older and got a job I've always wanted to buy an original arcade cabinet.

However, time flew by and money was short so I never got to buy one.

Recently I discovered hyperspin and the urge to get myself an arcade cabinet got bigger and bigger.

As time whent by I met myself a girl and got married. She doesn't like the looks of an arcade cabinet so the final option I've got to get my dream is to build one myself that my wife doesn't find "ugly".

I will be posting the progress here and when I'm finished I'll try to make some tutorials and maybe even a new global theme.

Since I'm a graphic designer and not so good with hardware and powertools I might also be asking for some advice along the way.

Last week i've sketched something in Adobe Illustrator that was inspired on some designs I found on the internet. It suits my needs and also my wife's.

I've also learned how to use Google Sketchup and started to draw out the cabinet in Sketchup. Doing so lead to some questions.

But before I ask them this is what i've got so far:

post-142969-1428706765_thumb.jpg

post-142969-142870676503_thumb.jpg

I ran into one issue whilest designing this cabinet in sketchup:

since I'm using angles and have no miter saw for big boards (70cm x 18mm x 90cm) I will be having gaps.

I was thinking to fill them with woodfiller then sand and paint them so they look like one part, would that be a good idea ?

Cheers and untills soon.