Download Section Back Up, Navigate the Right Hand Menu to find files, ignore the 0s

genre based main menu instead of emulators

reven

this one would be a lot of work, but I think would make a lot more sense.

instead of the mainmenu listing emulators, it would be better if it listed genres. that way if you want to play say a fighting game, you dont have to hunt around to remember what emulator you have it under. or you can quickly switch between light gun games and not have to jump out and change emulator menus (eg from mame -> genres -> light guns to playstation -> genres -> lightguns etc).

end users dont really care what emulator/system games are under, they want to play games, and easily find them.

a lot of work and is dependent on getting games all put into genres (i'm not sure if most emulators have these listed, im new to hyperspin), but definitely beneficial IMO.

Sorry but unless you have good incentives, nobody is gonna go around making xmls at your request specifically for you and your setup.

request 1 (genre instead of emulators) can already be accomplished already with a little work on your part. I have not tested this but I believe it should work. This method requires all of the genre tags to be filled in for your games. You will also need Don's HyperTools.

Step 1 use the the HyperTools List Merger to merge all of your system xmls you will be using into one gigantic master xml. (make sure exe tags are included)

Step 2 use the HyperTools List Splitter to gigantic master xml by genre.

Step 3 add the genre systems to HyperHQ according to the names of the genre xmls you just made.

request 2 (global favorites) this is not easy to do right now, but I'm willing to make it very simple (because I want this as well) if someone will make a main menu theme for a favorites 'system' that I like.

P.S. lightguns is not a genre, calling lightguns a genre would be like calling dualshock a genre. A lightgun is a specialized controller.