Unfortunately we had to take download section back offline temporarily. We should have it working normally soon.

(Tutorial) How to create a "Best of MAME" wheel or a "Genre X MAME"-wheel, out of your big total MAME collection

lovebus5

Here is how I did it (Im not claiming its the optimal way, but ut works :)

Situation: You have a big MAME wheel in Hyperspin Android with 1000s of games (with all your media & video set up in the right folders), and since neither Favourites nor Genres work you need a way to either: A) break the big MAME wheel into multiple smaller MAME wheels, e.g. by genre or, B.) You have a subset, such as I did, e.g. with your "top 500" MAME games or whatever, that you want to put in a separate wheel

Complication: You wanna do this without manually moving about roms and media files to match the new multiple MAME-wheel situation

Solution (at least one way, dont know if it´s the best, like I said im basically a HS noob):

I will describe Situation B, which is what I ended up doing for my own system 

• I wanted to create a MAME wheel with roughly max 1000 of the "best" MAME games.
  • Go ahead and create your "Best of MAME"-wheel in your normal RLUI routine, to create the right folders etc.
  • I started with a txt file, that I downloaded from here:  (credit to Progetto-SNAPS). It contains nearly all MAME games, rated (im fine with someone else´s opinion on whats good:)). I chose to include all games rated "good" or better...
  • The txt file did not contain the full filename of the roms, they are missing ".zip", so I copied over to excel and added it (=concatenate is the function to use...). Complete filepath is not needed, just the complete filename. Save your txt as "list.txt" (so next step´s script will find it)
  • Download a software called "Autoit", create a Autoit script file and copy paste the code that is described here (see the step-by-step there and follow it through, no changes needed)