The Downloads section is back and better than ever! If you spot something out of place, let us know.

My skinflint cabinet

Hi everyone,

I've been working on my arcade cabinet for about 3 years. Why so long? Because it was supposed to be as cheap as possible!

It all began when coming back from work I saw that my neighbour was trashing several huge chipboard panels. I figured it could be a good starter for a kid's dream: my own arcade cabinet.

So I gathered all the wood I could - I'm living in Germany, and trashing habits here are quite insane for the French guy I am, I can't believe what I sometimes see in the streets - and also a nice 55 cm TV.

I used as a basis the blueprints of Centipede cabinet found on arcadecontrols.com. It was the shape that remind me most of the cabinets I could play on during my childhood.

This is when the first thing went bad. I removed the TV from its plastic housing, put it in my home made frame in my fresh cabinet, plug everything, turn it on for a test, and... the picture was now green! I try to play with every settings I could find, but I had to face the truth, I damaged the TV when I removed the housing.

About one year and a half later, I found another working TV. This time, I didn't want to mess anything so I decided to put the whole TV with the housing in the cabinet. Of course it meant could only keep the sides of my precious pieces of wood as the whole TV made the cabinet wider. And it is the first time I took a picture, too.

1st%252520rough.jpg

I hooked it with a Saturn, Virtua Stick and Street Fighter Alpha 3 to get as close of the arcade feeling I could.

Then I built a VGA to SCART cable to try with a PC.

1st%252520with%252520computer.jpg

Things were going well, but the computer (that I found in the street too) died. A few months later I found another one and could go on.