Download Section Back Up, Navigate the Right Hand Menu to find files, ignore the 0s

1st cab build ever and no skills

djdaveoc

post-88515-142870647041_thumb.jpg

I just bought the stand-up version which is in the top-left of the attached file. I believe the monitor works. I'll need to gut the cab besides that and figure out what hardware I'll need to connect this dual-frequency monitor to a PC running Windows. I don't know if I'll need a graphics card, and if so with what type of connectors. I don't know how I'll power the monitor. I supposed once I pull out the guts I'll get a better idea on the connector types. However a lot of the wiring seems like molex or something similar. I'm not really familiar with electronics very much or the connectors that would be found in an arcade cab. I'm going to remove the front handlebars and either install an X-Arcade Tank Stick, or find someone who can build me 2-player arcade controls. I'm not an engineer, programmer, or carpenter. So this will be a tough project for me and I really have no experience with something like this. I'm planning to clean up and paint the cab and and get some kind of retro graphics for the sides. I'm just hoping that the monitor works so I didn't pay a bunch of money for just a cab. But if I did, I guess it's not that big of a deal. I paid less than what one of those X-Arcade cabinets costs on Ebay and those seem to be made out of cheap particle board. We'll see how it goes. If anyone has done a project like this and has recommendations on where I can start as far as hardware and connectors I'll need, please let me know.

Thanks

Pics of the cab. I ripped out everything except the monitor.

http://s36.photobucket.com/user/davidpoggi/slideshow/