Unfortunately we had to take download section back offline temporarily. We should have it working normally soon.

Rom tester

adamg

I am not a programmer.  That being said I was wondering if an automated tool that would test roms in a set would be something that could be done.

I have collected roms from all over the place and at this point all i have been doing is trying to get 100% rom sets for all of the official databases.  I got to thinking and thought that once you had a system working, it would be beneficial to have an automated process that would launch all of the games in a rom set, one after the other, and log whether it launched or not.  Would this be possible?

Here is what I was really thinking:

Flowchart

open xml

create list of roms

1 - find next rom

launch rom using rocketlauncher

check for errors/record errors if appliciable

if no errors - record 30 seconds of game with no inputs

close game

goto 1 until eof

This would create a way of automating the recording process thus making video file creation as easy as pie.  No idea if it is possible however.

I was thinking more about arcade games that have an attract mode but thanks for the input. I appreciate you pointing out the issues with my current plan but it would be much more helpful if you would offer suggestions as opposed to just telling me what cannot be done.

Many people's main problem with Hyperspin is roms. I understand why we cannot talk about them but what I am trying to do is create a vetting process for those that do not understand Hyperspin like you and me.

Understood. I know you know much more than me so I will definitely defer to you. I just would really like if HyperSpin was more accessible. Perhaps that is futile.

How does bulk testing Roms make Hyperspin more accessible? Hyperspin is just a simple frontend.

And really, does anyone really care if the 45000 (random number plucked from ass) Roms they downloaded or bought all work perfectly? They surely aren't that naive.