Download Section Back Up, Navigate the Right Hand Menu to find files, ignore the 0s

Raspberry Pie 3/Hyperspin/RocketLauncher

vetteman

Hi everyone. I am new to all this. Watch All the videos on installing Hyperspin that I can handle before my brain turns into mush.

My question is, Can I install Hyperspin and RocketLauncher on the Raspberry Pie 3?

I want to build a Bar top cabinet and having very little room inside the cabinet I think I would prefer to use the Raspberry Pie instead of a regular Pc.

Thanks

4 hours ago, Bungles said:

Can you install Windows in a Raspberry Pie 3. This will be your answer.

Ummmm yes you can actually Bungles. There is now an arm build of Windows 10 that works on the RPI3. Haven't tried it, nor will I when it takes a good 5 minutes to boot to the desktop! 

The truth is the RPI is just woefully under powered. I moved on to Nvidia's Shield TV which is much more capable for emulation. It can run Hyperspin, although we miss out on some PC features and don't get rocket launcher. 

Truth be told if you want to do the cabinet right you want to use a PC. The more modern arcade cabinets (like Taito Type X) are actually PC's. An RPI doesn't have a chance in hell of running Ultra Street Fighter IV! 

I have an PI and its nice to have the retro consoles  on my main TV,   but sticking  in an arcade cabinet is just lazy.

forget modern arcades,  its recommended that you run  MAME 2003 on a PI 2 and an older version on a Pi Zero

(I'm not sure what is recommended on the latest Pis)

you can't even play  Killer Instinct (mame version)  on MAME 2003, you have to play the SNES to MAME hack.

I ended up using Final Burn Alpha over MAME and used MAME 2009 for all the MAME games not found on FBA.

9 minutes ago, 32assassin said:

I have an PI and its nice to have the retro consoles  on my main TV,   but sticking  in an arcade cabinet is just lazy.