The Downloads section is back and better than ever! If you spot something out of place, let us know.

Using Anti-Virus

dmanc30

Hello;

I'm still new at this but I like using Hyperspin, but up till now I relied on Windows Defender prior to installing Hyperspin. My question is I worry about all the stuff I've downloaded from this site and from Filezilla want to install the latest version of Norton Anti-Virus. If I install Norton how would it affect Hyperspin? I keep reading that some antivirus view Hyperspin as a virus. Can somebody enlighten me on the topic. Thanks!

I agree...

I use my laptop for Web browsing , desktop 1 for downloads and , desktop 2 for hyperspin.....my HS cab will never see the Internet.

If I need anything else added it goes through another computer before it hits my cab. Hyperspin is too much work to risk a virus wiping me out.

Windows Defender will do fine. Norton and all the big name bloat ware just sucks the life out of you. If you are worried about things beyond normal virus protection just do an online scan of your system with whatever provider takes your fancy. Panda AV had an online scan and so did Trend Micro.

Thanks everybody! I'm not worried about losing all my hard work. I will start using my second computer for downloading. Unfortunately I surf, work, and play HS on my main computer. Every time I update something on HS I back up the whole folder on my external hard drive.

Most antiviruses does have active protection, basically they check every files you'll gonna read/write so yes, it will slow down a bit your system. Windows defender is a joke, just like window xp's firewall :P

And yes... Avira, for example (a good free antivirus) does recognize hyperHQ as a virus, so in case you have to add it to your antivirus exceptions.